October 20th, 2022

Women’s Fund Photo Gallery

Women’s Fund Annual Luncheon and Celebration
October 13, 2022, Emerson Suites, Ithaca College
Women Leading in Times of Unprecedented Change
Keynote: Dr. Cornish, President, Ithaca College


Suzie Brache, Women’s Fund Advisory Committee Chair, shared how purposeful philanthropy improves the status and quality of life for all women.  Introductions by Dr. Peyi Soyinka-Airewele, Gloria Coicou, Steph Bailey, Gail Belokur and Stacey Murphy.  Keynote speaker, Dr. La Jerne Terry Cornish led us on a journey highlighting the pathways of women, ending with the encouragement to “activate.”  We heard from Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, Director, Greater Ithaca Activities Center (GIAC), grantee, on use of funds providing opportunities for young people to learn, lead and grow!  We celebrated Lynnette Scofield, our 2022 Laura Holmberg Awardee, who wowed us with her recalling of her many years volunteering and recognizing women whose shoulders she stands. Thanks, Lynnette, for making lasting differences in the lives of other women living in Tompkins County.  Kim Rothman, Attorney, Bousquet Holstein, and past Committee member, spoke from the heart of some of the many reasons she gives to the important work of the Women’s Fund.  Attendees filled the room with energy! Many new faces and long-standing friends connected. Join us next year, to hear impact stories in your communities.

Stacey Dimas, Suzie Brache, Steph Bailey, Pam Bleiwas, Women’s Fund Advisory Committee members

Melissa Gallison and Alice Moore, Women’s Fund Advisory Committee members

Suzanne Brache, Career Services, Ithaca College and Chair, Women’s Fund Advisory Committee

Dr. Peyi Soyinka-Airewele, Professor of African and Comparative/International Politics, Ithaca College and Board Member, Community Foundation of Tompkins County

Dr. La Jerne Terry Cornish, President, Ithaca College

Dr. Amy Kremenek, President, Tompkins Cortland Community College (TC3)

Gloria Coicou, Chief Inclusion & Community Engagement Officer, Community Foundation of Tompkins County

Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, Director, Greater Ithaca Activities Center (GIAC)

Steph Bailey, Women’s Fund Advisory Committee


Gail Belokur, Interim CEO, United Way of Tompkins County, Steph Bailey, Megan Omohundro, Aly Evans

Lynnette Scofield, 2022 Laura Holmberg Award Recepient

Stacey Murphy, Women’s Fund Advisory Committee

Kim Rothman, attorney, Bousquet Holstein

George Ferrari, CEO, Community Foundation of Tompkins County

The FABULOUS FOUR, friends over 4 decades: Eugenia Barnaba, Rachael Pierce, Lynnette Scofield, Beverly Baker

Millie Clarke Maynard, Dr. La Jerne Terry Cornish, Phoebe Brown, Sonja Taylor

Head table: Suzanne Brache, Leslyn McBean-Claireborne, Dr. Amy Kremenek, George Ferrari, Dr. La Jerne Terry Cornish, Dr. Peyi Soyinka-Airewele, Gloria Coicou

Women’s Fund Advisory Committee: Steph Bailey, Alice Moore, Stacey Dimas, Stacey Murphy, Sheila Squier, Suzie Brache, Pamela Bleiwas, Aly Evans (not pictured: Melissa Gallison, Tierra Labrada, Stacie Mastin)

Photo credit Sheryl Sinkow Photography